About Us

Meet the Team Meet the Team

Shropshire Rural has a small team of staff, dedicated to doing the best job they can in support of the Association’s ambitions. We will seek the support of others when we need it: in designing, constructing maintaining and repairing our homes and in the many other aspects of running a housing association. We carefully select who we work with but by keeping our own team small and only seeking help when we need it, we are able to keep our operating costs low. However good the policies, systems and processes, it is a universal truth that ‘people make the difference’. The people making up Shropshire Rural’s staff are:

Annette Hadwen

Scheme Manager

Annette provides housing management and support services; principally to older residents who benefit from her skills, knowledge and experience gained in her current role and with one of the country’s largest providers of specialist accommodation for older people. Originally from Yorkshire, Annette devotes much of her ‘free time’ to her family and, when she can, to travel.

Linda Talbot

Housing Officer

Linda has responsibility for letting our homes and for day-to-day management of our tenancies. With a background in supported housing for homeless and vulnerable people prior to joining Shropshire Rural, Linda is now the Association’s longest-serving member of staff, with extensive experience on which to draw. When not serving Shropshire Rural, Linda is generally to be found spending time with her family, enjoying the great outdoors and tending her garden.

Stuart Jobson

Asset Manager

Stuart is the Association’s technical lead, responsible for ensuring Shropshire Rural’s properties are repaired, maintained and improved. Stuart has a background in building construction and particular experience of renewable energy and of adapting homes to meet the needs of those with disabilities. Away from work, Stuart’s interests include historic buildings and building restoration, outdoor activities and travel, with Russia being of particular interest.

Ian Richardson

Chief Executive

The Association’s Chief Executive since 2015 and previously serving a broad spectrum of housing organisations, Ian also ran his own interim management and consultancy business for eight years. A qualified coach and mentor, Ian is a past President of the Chartered Institute of Housing and has a long-standing interest and involvement in housing-related activities and education. When not working, Ian’s broad interests include canoeing and kayaking.

E-mail: ian.richardson@shropshirerural.co.uk


Kate Adams

Finance Director

The Association’s Finance Director since July 2017, having previously been the Head of Finance at Shropshire Housing Group, an organisation Kate served for nearly 20 years. Prior to this Kate qualified as a Chartered Accountant , having become interested in the business side of farming whilst completing a degree in Agriculture at Harper Adams University. Away from work, in addition to spending time with her family, Kate enjoys walking the dog, exploring the footpaths around Clun and helping do up their old house.

Kathryn Hearne

Tenancy Management Officer

Kathryn joined Shropshire Rural as Tenancy Management Officer in 2015, having relocated from Oxfordshire with valuable experience gained with another housing association. In late 2017, pursuing her interest in finance and accountancy, Kathryn took up the new position of Finance Officer, supporting the Finance Director and studying for further financial qualifications. Away from work, in addition to spending time with her family, Kathryn does voluntary work with SSAFA, the armed forces charity, and is a talented pianist.

Wendy Wainwright


Wendy plays a key role in making the business run smoothly. Providing wide-ranging support to staff, Board and Committee members, Wendy is often perceived as ‘the voice of Shropshire Rural’; answering telephone calls and welcoming visitors to the office. A ‘Lancashire lass’ now well settled in Shrewsbury, Wendy’s activities away from work include being a part-time safety steward at Shrewsbury Town FC and playing bowls competitively.

E-mail: wendy.wainwright@shropshirerural.co.uk


Steve Price

Chair of the Board


Retired local government Chief Officer, current Board member of Healthwatch Shropshire and of The Bishop Anthony Educational Trust.

Andy Vanderhook

Vice Chair of the Board

Vice Chair

Retired executive at Shell Oil and current Neen Savage Parish Councillor. Chair of the Association’s Strategy & Resources Committee.

Mark Astley

Board Member

Director of management consultancy Robert Vernon Associates, formerly with Ikea and Tesco in international procurement roles and a current Ightfield Parish Councillor.

Katrina Baker, MBE

Board Member

Clerk to multiple Parish Councils, received the MBE for voluntary service to the local community in Waters Upton. Vice Chair of the Association’s Housing Management Committee.

Rachel Danemann

Board Member

Community Housing Strategy & Delivery Manager at Torbay Council, a qualified town planner and housing professional and an associate of the RICS. Chair of the Association’s Housing Management Committee.

Sam Hine

Board Member

Owner of Communities Can, a community development company, and Project Development Manager at Fuse Enterprise CIC, owner of Smarti children’s boutique and a former local government Chief Officer. Vice Chair of the Association’s Strategy & Resources Committee.

Tom Howard

Board Member

Chartered PR professional, Media & Communications Manager and Chair of the staff association at the National House Building Council, formerly seconded as Communications Manager of The Housing Forum Ltd and current Board member of UK Ultimate Limited. Chair of the Association’s Personnel Committee.